Located in Waxahachie, Texas it clearly provides a wonderful Bed and Breakfast experience. Built in 1894, it is a Queen Anne Victorian house with gingerbread trimming. Waxahachie has been nicknamed the Gingerbread City because of the architecture of several beautiful homes, and buildings that remain from before 1900. This is one of those homes, and yet different, due to the ghosts that continue to reside at 414 West Main St.
The first long-term resident to call Bonny Nook Inn their home was Doctor W. F. West who moved in about two years after it was built 1896, with his wife, Gertrude, their baby son, and Gertrude's unmarried sister. As part of the upgrades to the house the couple decided to build a new kitchen that would, of course, include a new wood burning stove.
Unfortunately, the new stove exploded and killed Mrs. West. A few months after the tragedy Dr. West married his wife's sister, and they lived in the house together, and raised the child for 18 years, before selling the house to May Wyatt in 1914.
The house remained in the Wyatt family for 65 years, until it was sold in 1979, and in 1983 was restored and opened as a Bed-and-Breakfast. The strange happenings in this building began a year after the new couple purchased the house. There is a room called The Murrow and it is considered the most haunted area of the bed-and-breakfast. Many guests have been frightened by the vision of a woman wearing a long white gown standing at the foot of the bed, as well as their personal items being moved, or thrown. Strangely, when the room is not being used, a small skull appears on the headboard of the bed, it is white and plainly visible and has been seen by many people.